Center for Judicial Accountability

From:

Center for Judicial Accountability <elena@judgewatch.org>

Sent:

Wednesday, June 19, 2013 12:36 PM

To:

Assembly Minority Leader Brian M. Kolb; Barbara M. Clark

(bentont@assembly.state.ny.us); BarclaW@assembly.state.ny.us; Bob Oaks, Ranking

Member Assembly Ways & Means Committee; Catherine Nolan

(whynotk@assembly.state.ny.us); ClarkB@assembly.state.ny.us; Clifford Crouch (bousays@assembly.state.ny.us); Clifford Crouch (mckeagp@assembly.state.ny.us); CookV@assembly.state.ny.us; CrouchC@assembly.state.ny.us; Deborah Glick; Deborah Glick (swidorskit@assembly.state.ny.us); DupreyJ@assembly.state.ny.us; Félix Ortiz

(carucir@assembly.state.ny.us); FinchG@assembly.state.ny.us; Gary Finch

(redmonds@assembly.state.ny.us); Gary J. Pretlow; Gary J. Pretlow

(edwardj@assembly.state.ny.us); Gary J. Pretlow (steward@assembly.state.ny.us); Helene Weinstein; Helene Weinstein (beavers@assembly.state.ny.us); Herman Farrell Jr.

(freemanc@assembly.state.ny.us); Herman Farrell Jr. (kowalsa@assembly.state.ny.us); Herman Farrell, Jr.; JacobsR@assembly.state.ny.us; James Tedisco; James Tedisco (bulld@assembly.state.ny.us); James Tedisco (cramera@assembly.state.ny.us); Jeffrion

Aubry; Jeffrion Aubry (douglasa@assembly.state.ny.us); Joseph Lentol (feinmam@assembly.state.ny.us); Joseph Morelle (das@morelle.com);

LentolJ@assembly.state.ny.us; 'morellej@assembly.state.ny.us'; NolanC@assembly.state.ny.us; OrtizF@assembly.state.ny.us;

peakec@assembly.state.ny.us; Rhoda Jacobs (nicholst@assembly.state.ny.us); Richard

Gottfried; Richard Gottfried (contir2@assembly.state.ny.us); Robert Oaks

(dagatir@assembly.state.ny.us); Robert Oaks (herricks@assembly.state.ny.us); Sheldon Silver (hogank@assembly.state.ny.us); Sheldon Silver (searlesa@assembly.state.ny.us); skypej@assembly.state.ny.us; speaker@assembly.state.ny.us; Steve Englebright; Steve Englebright (nostrae@assembly.state.ny.us); Sweeney@assembly.state.ny.us; Tony

Jordan; Tony Jordan (harperd@assembly.state.ny.us); Tony Jordan

(murphykg@assembly.state.ny.us); Vivian Cook (corkerj@assembly.state.ny.us); William

Barclay (cookj2@assembly.state.ny.us)

Subject: Why You Must Vote AGAINST A.246 Establishing a Special Commission on

Compensation of Managerial & Confidential State Employees

TO: ASSEMBLY RULES COMMITTEE

Among the myriad of bills before you is a bill <u>unlike</u> any other: A.246. It creates a special commission on compensation of managerial and confidential state employees whose recommendations will become law <u>without</u> requiring any affirmative action by the Legislature.

This is unconstitutional and demonstrably dangerous – and such is set forth by our April 20th memorandum to the Assembly Committee on Governmental Employees and by our April 26th memorandum to the Assembly Ways & Means Committee, laying out the constitutional, statutory, and other infirmities of the bill and supporting sponsor's memo.

We urge you to read these memoranda – so that you can appreciate how dysfunctional these committees are in voting out A.246, by unanimous votes and, upon information and belief, without debate and without committee report – and your duty to vote AGAINST A.246. The memoranda are posted on our website, www.judgewatch.org. Here's the direct link: http://www.judgewatch.org/web-pages/judicial-compensation/judicial-compensation-progeny.htm

Thank you.

Elena Sassower, Director Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) 914-455-4373