Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA)

From: Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) <elena@judgewatch.org>

Sent: Tuesday, December 11, 2018 2:42 PM

To: 'Senate Foil'

Subject: FOIL/Records Access -- The 13 joint legislative commissions of the Senate & Assembly

TO: Senate Records Access Officer/Secretary of the Senate Patience

Below is CJA's December 5, 2018 FOIL/records request to Assembly Records Access Officer Robin Marilla for records reflecting the membership of the 13 "Legislative Commissions" enumerated on the Assembly's webpage of "Committees, Commissions & Task Forces". On November 30, 2018, Assembly Speaker Heastie referred to these as "joint legislative commissions" in his oral and written remarks to the NYS Compensation Committee.

Only 2 legislative commissions are reflected by the Senate's webpage for "Senators & Committees": https://www.nysenate.gov/senators-committees:

- (1) The Administrative Regulations Review Commission, whose homepage:

 https://www.nysenate.gov/committees/administrative-regulations-review-commission-arrc reflects that Senator Christopher Jacobs is its chair, presiding over two members, Senator Liz Krueger and Senator Phil Boyle and that it has had no activity since a January 4, 2018 hearing, with little before that.
- (2) Legislative Commission on Rural Resources, whose homepage:
 https://www.nysenate.gov/committees/legislative-commission-rural-resources, reflects that Senator Pamela Helming is its chair, presiding over three members, Senator Fred Akshar, Senator Patty Ritchie, and Senator David Valesky whose last activity was announcement of a May 8, 2018 winery roundtable, and not much vigorous activity before that.

Pursuant to Senate Rule XV, "Freedom of Information", request is made for records reflecting the membership of all 13 joint legislative commissions.

Thank you.

Elena Sassower, Director
Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA)
www.judgewatch.org
914-421-1200

From: Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) <elena@judgewatch.org>

Sent: Wednesday, December 5, 2018 3:53 PM **To:** 'Robin Marilla' <marillar@nyassembly.gov>

Subject: FOIL/Records Access -- The 13 "Legislative Commissions" Enumerated by the Assembly's Website

TO: Assembly Records Access Officer Robin Marilla

Pursuant to Assembly Rule VIII "Public Access to Records", request is made for records reflecting the membership of the 13 "Legislative Commissions", enumerated on the Assembly's webpage of "Committees, Commissions & Task Forces": https://nyassembly.gov/comm/. In the order in which they appear, they are:

- Legislative Commission on Administrative Regulations Review, whose homepage: https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=44, reflects no members other than its chair, Assemblyman Dan Quart – and no activity since a Dec. 2015 hearing;
- (2) Legislative Commission on Council on Health Care Financing, whose homepage: https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=45 reflects no members, including no chair – and no activity whatever;
- (3) Legislative Commission on Critical Transportation Choices, whose homepage:

 https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=46 reflects no members other than its chair, Assemblyman David Gantt and no activity whatever;
- (4) Legislative Commission on Governmental Administration, whose homepage:

 <u>https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=49</u> reflects no members other than its chair, Assemblyman Thomas Abinanti
 and no activity for more than five years (May 2013);
- (5) Legislative Commission on Legislative Ethics, whose homepage: https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=48 reflects no members other than its chair, Assemblywoman Avarella Simotas and no activity whatever;
- (6) Legislative Commission on Rural Resources, whose homepage: https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=47 reflects that its chair is Assemblyman Angelo Santabarbara and two members, Assemblywomen Barbara Lifton and Carrie Woerner and no activity for more than eight years (summer 2012);
- (7) Legislative Commission on Science and Technology, whose homepage: https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=51, reflects no members other than its chair, Assemblyman Sean Ryan and no activity for more than four years (April 2014);
- (8) Legislative Commission on Skills Development and Career Education, whose homepage: https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=52 reflects no members other than its chair, Assemblyman Harry Bronson and no activity since an October 2017 posting of a legislative report;
- (9) Legislative Commission on Solid Waste Management, whose homepage: https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=53 reflects no members, including no chair and no activity since a Feb. 2016 hearing;
- (10) Legislative Commission on State-Local Relations, whose homepage:

 https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=54&sec=hearings, reflects no members other than its chair, Assemblyman Victor Pichardo and no activity since a Nov. 2016 posting of a notice of roundtable;
- (11) Legislative Commission on Tax Study, whose homepage: https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=55 reflects no members, including no chair and no activity whatever;
- (12) Legislative Commission on Toxic Substances and Hazardous Wastes, whose homepage:

 https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=56 reflects no members other than its chair, Assemblywoman Christine Pellegrino and no activity since a Jan. 2018 posted notice of hearing;
- (13) Legislative Commission on Water Resource Needs of New York State, whose homepage:

 https://nyassembly.gov/comm/?id=57 reflects no members, including no chair and no activity for more than five years (Oct. 2013).

Thank you.

Elena Sassower, Director Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) www.judgewatch.org 914-421-1200