American Civil Liberties Union Fund of the National Capital Area

-ec' 0/24/96

1400 20th Street, N.W./Washington, D.C. 20036/202-457-0800

October 18, 1996

PRESIDENT Robert Plotkin

VICE-PRESIDENT Cynthia Harrison

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Mary Jane DeFrank

> LEGAL DIRECTOR Arthur B. Spitzer

LEGAL STAFF Charles H. Wilson Stephen M. Block

DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR Joy Jones

SCREENING COMMITTEE COORDINATORS Pearl Hoffman Fritz Mulhauser

> FINANCE DIRECTOR Leland Y. Larsen

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Charles Cerf Emilio Cividanes Bert Foer Jocelyn Frye Betty Ann Kane Rita Soler Ossolinski

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Mark Agrast Geoffrey Aronow Adrienne Barth Laurie B. Davis Thuy Dinh H. Stewart Dunn, Jr. Anita R. Estell Barbara Etkind Julie Ferguson Fred Joseph Dan Rapoport Tom Schneider **David Remes** Virginia Sloan Jonathan Smith Matthew B. Watson

MONTGOMERY COUNTY CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES Barry Katz Michael Mage

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY CHAPTER REPRESENTATIVES Sandra Strebel Peavey Franklyn Taylor Ms. Elena Ruth Sassower Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. Box 69, Gedney Station White Plains, NY 10605

Dear Ms. Sassower:

We received the copies you sent of your Motion to Set Aside Forfeiture and your complaint to the Capitol Police and Metropolitan Police.

We continue to lament the complete absence of any independent forum for citizen complaints about the Metropolitan Police. Complaints may be sent to the chief of police, as you know, but unless they involve major misconduct we understand they are investigated by the chain of command in the same units where the problems originated.

As we have a continuing interest in the issues you are raising about police and court procedures here, we'll look forward to hearing of any further developments with either--your efforts to get a hearing on the original charges, or any response from police officials.

Thank you again for thinking of us and good luck.

Sincerely, Fritz Mulhauser

Coordinator Litigation Screening