

www.aclu-nca.org

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION FUND OF THE NATIONAL CAPITAL AREA

1400 - 20тн Street NW, Suite 119, Washington, DC 20036-5920 / 202 457-0800 $\,$

PRESIDENT
Geoffrey Aronow

VICE PRESIDENT
Julie Ferguson Queen

LEGAL DIRECTOR
Arthur B. Spitzer

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Johnny Barnes

July 15, 2003

Ms. Elena R. Sassower Center for Judicial Accountability P.O. Box 69, Gedney Station White Plains, NY 10605

Dear Ms. Sassower:

We received your July 7 request for assistance with defense of a criminal charge here in the District of Columbia, as you had alerted us by telephone. You explained the incident of May 22 when you spoke out in a Senate hearing room near the end or after the end of a Senate committee session on judicial nominees. You were arrested and charged with disrupting Congress; your case is scheduled to come up next in the D.C. Superior Court on August 20. Is that a trial date, or another status conference? You had attorney Mitchell Baer at arraignment, and Mark Goldstone was with you at another appearance, but apparently you have no counsel now.

You pointed to inconsistencies in the police paperwork (concerning which officer arrested you, what you said, the sequence of events, etc.), and the larger inconsistency that you did the same thing once before without difficulty. You said you spoke out to draw attention to problems with specific judicial nominations and the general lack of public input, so you are hoping you can discuss these concerns at your criminal trial.

We do not have enough information to know if we could offer you legal help. Of greatest interest to us would be the video record that you say shows the hearing had ended when you asked to speak. Your July 7 memo refers to a copy you have of a videotape of the event (page 3, top paragraph; page 6, third paragraph; page 8, etc.).

If you can provide a copy, preferably in VHS format in a standard cassette, we will review it with interest.

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Charlie Cerf Bert Foer Bruce Gilchrist Mondi Kumbula-Fraser Leslie McAdoo Paul Siegel

ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Mario Acosta-Velez Charles R. Ashurst Shelley Broderick Donn Cohen H. Stewart Dunn, Jr. Kelli Evans Marc Granowitter Beth Grupp Michael Mage Jim Nathanson Denyse Sabagh Marie-Ann Sennett Nancy Jane Shestack Abbe Smith Christopher N. Sipes Nkechi Taifa Matthew S. Watson Joslyn N. Williams John Wimberly

PRESIDENT'S COMMITTEE CHAIR Thomas J. Schneider

ALUMNI ADVISORY COUNCIL CHAIR Daniel Rapoport

STAFF ATTORNEYS
Stephen M. Block
Fritz Mulhauser

COMMITTEE COORDINATOR Pearl Hoffman

FINANCE DIRECTOR Leland Y. Larsen

> ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR Donald M. Haines