From:	Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) <elena@judgewatch.org></elena@judgewatch.org>
Sent:	Monday, December 6, 2021 9:36 AM
То:	'foil@nysenate.gov'
Subject:	#2: STATUS? FOIL/records request: appointment & designation of the
	Legislative Ethics Commission's members & co-chairs, pursuant to Legislative
	Law §80, subsections 1 - 4

TO: Senate Records Access Officer/Secretary of the Senate Alejandra Paulino, ESQ.

I have no record of response from you to my below March 8, 2021 FOIL request. Did you respond? Please advise – forwarding it to me, or otherwise responding now, for the first time.

Thank you.

Elena Sassower, Director Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) <u>www.judgewatch.org</u> 914-421-1200 elena@judgewatch.org

From: Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) <<u>elena@judgewatch.org</u>>
Sent: Monday, March 8, 2021 1:35 PM
To: 'foil@nysenate.gov' <<u>foil@nysenate.gov</u>>; 'marillar@nyassembly.gov' <<u>marillar@nyassembly.gov</u>>

Subject: FOIL/records request: appointment & designation of the Legislative Ethics Commission's members & co-chairs, pursuant to Legislative Law §80, subsections 1 - 4

TO: Senate Records Access Officer/Secretary of the Senate Alejandra Paulino, ESQ. Assembly Records Access Officer Robin Marilla

<u>Legislative Law §80 establishes the Legislative Ethics Commission</u> -- and subsections 1-4 pertain to the appointment of its nine members, as follows:

"1. There is established a legislative ethics commission which shall consist of nine members. Four members shall be members of the legislature and shall be appointed as follows: one by the temporary president of the senate, one by the speaker of the assembly, one by the minority leader of the senate and one by the minority leader of the assembly. The remaining five members shall not be present or former members of the legislature, candidates for member of the legislature, employees of the legislature, political party chairmen as defined in paragraph (k) of subdivision one of section seventy-three of the public officers law, or lobbyists, as defined in section one-c of this chapter, or persons who have been employees of the legislature, political party chairmen as defined in paragraph (k) of subdivision one of section seventy-three of the public officers law, or lobbyists, as defined in section one-c of this chapter in the previous five years, and shall be appointed as follows: one by the temporary president of the senate, one by the speaker of the assembly, one by the minority leader of the senate, one by the minority leader of the assembly, and one jointly by the speaker of the assembly and majority leader of the senate. ...

2. Members of the legislature who serve on the commission shall each have a two year term concurrent with their legislative terms of office. The members of the commission who are not members of the legislature and who are first appointed by the temporary president of the senate, speaker of the assembly, minority leader of the senate, and minority leader of the assembly shall serve one, two, three and four year terms, respectively. The member of the commission first appointed jointly by the temporary president of the senate and speaker of the assembly shall serve a four year term. Each member of the commission who is not a member of the legislature shall be appointed thereafter for a term of four years.

3. The temporary president of the senate and the speaker of the assembly shall each designate one member of the commission as a co-chairperson thereof. ...

4. Any vacancy occurring on the commission shall be filled within thirty days by the appointing authority."

Pursuant to Senate Rule ____ ["Freedom of Information"] and Assembly Rules VIII ["Public Access to Records"], request is made for records pertaining to the appointment of members and designation of co-chairs, from the inception of the Legislative Ethics Commission to date – and, in particular, establishing:

- (a) the names of the members appointed, the dates of their appointments, and by which appointing authority;
- (b) the dates of each member's tenure;
- (c) the dates on which the co-chairs were designated and the dates of their tenure.

Thank you.

Elena Sassower, Director Center for Judicial Accountability, Inc. (CJA) <u>www.judgewatch.org</u> 914-421-1200 <u>elena@judgewatch.org</u>